Lynette Long, Ph.D., President of EVE

by Lynette Long, Ph.D., President of EVE
August 30, 2015 · Comments Off  

The Florida Legislature has a program to honor great Floridians.  Started in 1981 the program has honored 89 individuals, 74 men and 15 women.  Over the thirty-four year span of the award, there were no women honored for twenty-five of those years.  The first woman honored was environmentalist Marjory Stoneman Douglas in 1987.  The second woman honored was educator, Mary McLeod Bethune, fifteen years later.  Many women who made significant contributions to the State of Florida and the nation have been omitted including Betty Mae Jumper, the first female Chief of the Seminole Nation of Florida and U.S. Attorney General Janet Reno.

Share this:
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • E-mail this story to a friend!
  • MySpace
  • Print this article!
  • Reddit
  • RSS
  • StumbleUpon
  • Yahoo! Buzz

Comments are closed.