Ohio legislators urged to choose a woman for new statue

June 18, 2010 by EVE   · 1 Comment »

Ohio legislators urged to choose a woman for new statue

June 18, 2010 – Ohio legislators got a visual reminder this week of the importance of choosing a woman for the state’s new statue in Washington.

Equal Visibility Everywhere (EVE), an organization dedicated to highlighting women’s history and achievements, sent custom-designed posters to the members of the General Assembly’s National Statuary Collection Study Committee. The stark, black-background 16×20 inch poster features an archival photo of schoolgirls surrounded by male statues in the Hall. The caption reads, “Change the possibilities for the next generation of girls. Put a woman in Statuary Hall.” (View a 1600px image of the poster here.)


Out of the 100 statues currently in Statuary Hall, only 9 are of women.

Ohio is currently in the process of choosing a replacement for the statue of Governor William Allen, which has stood in the U.S. Capitol since 1887. The 10 finalists for the honor include 3 women: Harriet Beecher Stowe, the Cincinnati-based author of Uncle Tom’s Cabin; Judith Resnik, the Akron astronaut who died in the Challenger disaster; and Harriet Taylor Upton, an Ohio suffragist who played a leading role in winning the vote for women.

Ohio residents were given the opportunity to vote for their favorite from March 20 to June 12, 2010. Those ballots are being counted now, with the tabulation expected to be announced in early July. The public vote is not binding, however, and the National Statuary Collection Study Committee is tasked with making the final recommendation to the General Assembly.

EVE sent the poster to all six members of the Study Committee, as well as to Senate Minority Leader Capri S. Cafaro, Assistant Minority Leader Shirley A. Smith, and Governor and First Lady Strickland.



Lynette Long, President of EVE
(301) 325-6976

Suzanne Scoggins, EVE Director of Communications


Image of poster: http://equalvisibilityeverywhere.org/wp-content/uploads/2010/06/nsh_poster_1600.jpg

Full list of poster recipients:

Sen. Mark Wagoner (R-Toledo), Chairman, National Statuary Collection Study Committee
Sen. Teresa Fedor (D-Toledo)
Sen. Karen Gillmor (R-Tiffin)
Rep. Richard Adams (R-Troy)
Rep. Connie Pillich (D-Cincinnati)
Rep. Tom Letson (D-Warren)

Sen. Capri Cafaro (D-Hubbard), Minority Leader
Sen. Shirley A. Smith (D-Cleveland), Assistant Minority Leader

Governor Ted Strickland
First Lady Frances Strickland


Ohio Statue Project (EVE)
Statuary Hall Project (EVE)
Legacy for Ohio
National Statuary Hall Collection official website

EVE organizational info:

EVE website
EVE Press Room
EVE on Facebook
EVE Factsheet (pdf)

Share this:
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • del.icio.us
  • E-mail this story to a friend!
  • MySpace
  • Print this article!
  • Reddit
  • RSS
  • StumbleUpon
  • Yahoo! Buzz
One Response
  1. If a picture is worth a thousand words… : EVE | Equal Visibility Everywhere says:

    [...] poster we had made up and shipped to the members of the statue committee in Ohio this week. See our press release for the full details. Share [...]